Went to Rio de Janeiro’s famous Hippie Market last Sunday

Posted on 18 September 2008

4



Here are some of the things available and their prices.

this is strip of string made of bark of a palm. Tie it round your wrist. R$2 each.
.
.

all sorts of biquini. R$25 each.
.
.

great idea that comes out expensive.
Its basically a laminated plywood (a nicer looking one) that is colored (sprayed, I guess) and sticked with photo such as Rio’s scenery, flowers. I forgot to ask the price of the large one, but there’s one with 5 slots where you can put your remote controls in boxes (imagine putting 5 remote control on their feets, in a row) costs R$35 (er… correct me if I guess wrong).
.
.

havaiana slippers (google for “Gisele Bundchen Havaianas flip flops”). These are different from normal Havaianas, due to the custom stitched decorations on top of the sandals.
Click on photo to see individual prices, ranging from R$30 to R$45.
.
.

Also another Havaianas.
Check out the price from the photo. The photo is a bit blurred, but I think it is R$50.
.
.

more havaianas slippers with different design. Should had wrote down the prices. Ányway, I think they sell for R$50 each.
.
.

necklace.
made of neoprene and the palm bark i mentioned earlier. If not mistaken the bark is called “palha”.
price ranges from cheapest of R$25 (at top left, smallest) to RS70 (at bottom left, largest)

.
.

bird carved from quartz like crystals & stones. I can’t remember this cost how much but if not mistaken, it was R$100.
.
.

another sone/crystal bird, R$140?
.
.

I asked the artist/seller if this bird really exist. “Yup, they does. At northern of Brazil”. “The whole chicken is black in color?”. “Yup”. Er…. R$10??? I remember its quite cheap.
.
.

Ha! I forgot its name, but I remember its price R$7.
Its a food from northern east of Brazil.
.
.

These are the same stones that the above birds stand on.
Also the same stones that Chinese love to put at their homes.
From bottom, R$400.
Middle one is R$650.
Top one is R$800.
.
.

Posted in: brazil, photos, travel