AirAsia’s changing fare policy – pissing me off

Posted on 14 January 2008

14



This has got nothing to do with travel, its just a ‘tak syok’ statement.

Ya, ya.. I know that its in the terms and condition (I never bother to verify about the penalty, but of course it is, as it would be everytime), but here goes:

I have a ticket from JHB to SBW dated 4thFeb. Paid RM477.99. Damn expensive to begin with, but that’s benefit of monopoly (in the name of supply and demand). Fine.

I wanted to change the flight to 29thJan. Checked the price, it was 199.99 MYR.
By the way, the search result was :-
Tue 29 Jan 2008 –> 199.99 MYR
Wed 30 Jan 2008 –> 399.99 MYR
Thu 31 Jan 2008 –> 559.99 MYR
Cool. earning additional RM200 for each day of flight.

I called Airasia, and asked whether I can change the flight. I was surprised with the reply “you can only change the flight to same fare or higher fare flight“.
So I asked “If I changed from my RM499 flight to RM199 flight, what happen to my RM200?“.
There’s no reinbursement?” I replied to confirm what I heard.
Furthermore, “You’ve have to pay penalty charge, sir
How much is the penalty?
RM75
I was almost in disbelief when I and I thought “I have to pay RM75, on top of what they will already earn due to the RM200 fare difference)”.

No wonder business is good.
#You are punished for booking late (my case of buying late in Oct for CNY. No complain – that’s how market works)
#You are punished for changing a flight (penalty. No complain either – that’s term & condition)
#You are punished because won’t get any fare difference refund if new flight date is chepaer (What can I complain? The question is “why didn’t you really check the date before buying?”)
#You are punished (again) when the new flight is more expensive (lets say someone is really ‘suey’, that had to change flight from 4thFeb to 31Jan, and he had pay RM499, here’s what he needs to pay in addition $75 (penalty) + $100 (fare difference), summing to RM674. Damn fuck*** nice).

“Now everyone can fly” seems more like “Do you want to fly with us?” (evil grin) to me now.

For the record, MAS gives a voucher of 1 year validity if you change to any flight of lower fare.

I know if I change flight to 19th, I’ll pay $564 for a $199 ticket, and my 4thFeb will be on sale for $699 or more. Think also tuu lang.

Its time for a third option of plying between Sarawak and West Malaysia….. something big enough and carry the mass. Revival of Ferry Malaysia?

Posted in: malaysia